Gap filling, 19

JUST IN TIME

The wind was stronger (0) …than …it had been earlier. I had

(16) …never.. been out in such a strong storm before. As we drove rapidly through the woods the branches swayed backwards and forwards above (17) …us…. . Lightning flashed. ‘I wish we weren’t out in (18) …this… storm,’ I said to John. The words were hardly out of (19) …my… mouth when a branch from a tree came crashing down across the road in front of us. We leapt out of the car and ran quickly (20) …towards.. the fallen branch. We had to move it, otherwise we (21) …would… not be able to continue our journey. We pulled and pushed until we were finally able to move it (22) …to… the side of the road. We got back into the car and drove on down the road. We had to get to the house (23) …in… time. Lord Brenton, (24) …who… was dying, was the (25) …only… person who could give us the information we needed (26)…so… we could catch the murderers. He was a key witness. At last we reached our destination. The house (27) …was.. lit up inside like a Christmas (28) …tree.. . He must (29) …still.. be alive, I thought, as we jumped out of the car and ran up the steps to (30) …the… entrance of the huge Victorian house. ‘I think we’ve made it,’ I called to John.

Leave a comment