Sentence transformation, 10

31 We would rather stop than continue in this manner.

prefer

We …‘d prefer to stop….. than to continue in this manner.

32 Mother told Tom that he had to go to bed early.

must

‘You to …must go……bed early,’ Mother told Tom.

33 I last saw her at the end of May.

since

I …haven’t seen her since….the end of May.

34 I’ll never be able to persuade her to agree with the idea.

bring

I’ll never …bring her round… to the idea.

35 She could not understand how they were related.

connection

She could not understand …their connection… to her.

36 I don’t think I can afford to buy this dress.

have

I don’t think I …have enough…. money to buy this dress.

37 He is helping his mother so that they can finish quickly.

order

He is helping his mother …in order to finish….. quickly.

38 I found my old diary by chance.

came

I ……came across.. my old diary by chance.

39 He was very rude when he spoke to the old man.

politely

He ……did not speak politely to… the old man.

40 She caught the early bus so that she would not be late for work.

avoid

She caught the early bus …to avoid being…. late for work.

Leave a comment