Sentence transformation, 12

31 Sally has not come to school because she has been sick.

absent

Sally …has been absent from …. school because she has been sick.

32 It is often difficult to find an answer to a problem.

solution

Finding …a solution to… a problem is often difficult.

33 I was lucky you let me stay with you for the night.

put

I was lucky you ……put me up…. for the night.

34 I advised him to stop smoking.

suggested

I ……suggested (that) he….. stop smoking.

35 They are going to do up my room.

have

I’m going to…have my room……….…. decorated.

36 Jane doesn’t often see Mike.

seldom

Jane ……seldom sees…. Mike.

37 I can understand this quite well

easy

It’s …easy for me to….. understand this.

38 My mother doesn’t like us to stay out late.

approve

My mother doesn’t ……approve of us/our staying…… out late.

39 Mary is employed by IBM, isn’t she?

works

Mary …………works for IBM, doesn’t…… she?

40 They could not understand what she said.

difficulty

They ……had difficulty in understanding…. what she said.

One Response to “Sentence transformation, 12”

  1. coupons Says:

    Amazing blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..
    Any recommendations? Thank you!

Leave a comment